//
you're reading...
Poetry, poetry, Uncategorized

No. 3085

  
Your Rain Falls. By CpSingleton © 2016

I can’t see your form through the rain.

Droplets so large that they stretch from the clouds and leave lines of grey like solemn waves 

Across the fields and forests.

Is it the end, dearest N?

I wouldn’t be able to hear him answer over the percussion beat that drums over even the bass of vehicles as they pass.

I can’t see your form through the rain.

Is that the plan?

To obscure my perception while you drown my body?

Do you hope that the subtle oils, which sit silently on the surface of my skin, will fade?

Evolution would tut at your absurdity.

As this rain is yours, I will flap my wings and fly above your clouds.

The paltry forecast predicts a dry day tomorrow.

Mind you, my horoscope said I’d be happy today.

About Chris42

I am a liar! A maker-uper of stories! If this was the 16 (c) I'd be burned as a witch. Fank goodness it is not, eh?! I have four children: two wonderful girls, a fantastic lad and Leeds United. I have no strict genre. I write children's poetry and stories, to edgy, stronger themes. Up until now I have stored them for my own and my family's viewing. Last year i thought bugger it and starred in several short films. One, Playground, which is on the BBC Film Network, used the monologue that I wrote for the audition. You should've seen the face of the receptionist, of the Manchester hotel, where the audition was being held, as I turned up dressed as the psychopath, Gordon. It got the desired effect! I then moved up to Cumbria and wrote and appeared in several live performances on stage. 2012. A local artist, Kayleigh Richardson, commissioned me to write a poem for her to paint a representation. I sent her, The Rise of the Robot Monkey Army. Kayleigh painted a fantastic piece that blew my mind! From that we are collaborating on the Jacob Bear series of stories. Oh and Two's Company is to published, along with seventeen other Sci Fi short stories as part of a collection. Not a bad start to the, so called, last year of the Earth. Now is the time to show the rest of you. I take my themes wherever i see them, whether in reality or dream-world. I hope you enjoy. If not tell me why. If so tell me why. Many thanks and be safe. So far I have published: Jacob Bear's first Christmas,https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007GK872A (UK) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007GK872A (USA) Jacob Bear Goes to School https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007JD3OKY (UK) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007JD3OKY (USA Jacob's First Words https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007VZWPSC (UK) & http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007VZWPSC (USA) Space Here https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007H96M90 (UK) &http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007H96M90#reader_B007H96M90 The Rise of the Sponge Cake Moon https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007WWZ16M (UK) & http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007WWZ16M (USA) © Madstoffa, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “No. 3085

  1. Chris, this is beautiful, bittersweet with a dash of humor. Lovely imagery and you did your rather clever thing, even introduced the element of sound! “I wouldn’t be able to hear him answer over the percussion beat that drums over even the bass of vehicles as they pass.” Love this bit of hope, “The paltry forecast predicts a dry day tomorrow.” The final verse is marvelous, “Mind you, my horoscope said I’d be happy today.”

    This is truly a wonderful poem, a pleasure to read. Enjoy your Sunday. ~ Mia

    P.S. Now for the horoscope, rather like fortune cookies don’t you think, one size fits all?

    Posted by Copper Cranes | April 24, 2016, 5:44 am
    • Fanks Mia!
      Really glad you enjoyed.
      I think I try, even in the darkest poetry, to add a little humor. Life’s like that, isn’t it.
      I used to work offshore and there was some catastrophic events, and yet there was a chink of silliness within each. Life is a funny onion.
      They do indeed!! As a teen I would read my horoscope avidly. They were taken far more seriously than these days. Yet, even then I’d wonder at the mind who followed the advice, or waited for the love with a monkey on his shoulder to appear!
      Ps, in case you are intrigued, my lover with the monkey on his shoulder appeared one night outside a Tesco -English supermarket- in Liverpool.
      I was in Leeds at the time. Sadly we never met. Life can be so cruel and fortuitous. I’m not gay and he found another partner of the same ilk. Apparently they too are due to appear on Britain’s Got Talent. Small world, eh?

      Posted by cpsingleton42 | April 24, 2016, 12:57 pm
      • I did enjoy it! I’m so glad you mentioned the bit, “chink of silliness within each” because it’s so true. I know that many would be horrified, even scold you with their eyes, but life is that way. All it takes is to be in the wrong place at the right time, and Voila! Hell, I laugh at my own misfortunes all the time.

        Truly, there is much truth to the statement, “small world”. Now you’ve got some competition, I bet you thought you had it in the bag. It’s a cruel world, Cruella!

        Posted by Copper Cranes | April 24, 2016, 4:51 pm
  2. Haha! “Even scold you with their eyes” loved that!!
    I do, especially if others are watching.
    I did! But the bloody monkey can sing just like Pavarotti!!
    I’m fucked!! 😉

    Posted by cpsingleton42 | April 24, 2016, 5:25 pm

Leave a Reply

Please Help A Poor Writer Enter His Work Into Competitions.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,050 other followers

KEEP OFF!!

© C.p.Singleton, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Don't make me have to take the shirt off your whipped back if you break the rules! I will you know! Us writing folk work hard to make rubbish up for you to enjoy, so don't abuse or you lose! Tha's right!

Blog Awards

Blog Awards

