//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

No. 325

Madstoffa's crunchy house!

20140426-095648.jpg
photo credit: aminaabuelhawa.wordpress.com
How lucky have I been of late to be able to try and lend some decent scribbles to such fantastic photographs from these amazing photographers. Today’s brilliantly atmospheric photo is from Amina. Make sure you go visit her blog!

cum morte omnia nunc rident homines ad risum est possumus by CpSingleton © 2014

From up high, Death watches,
Biding his terrible time.
He knows of man’s destructive needs
In war and violent crime.

The paper god’s its puppets,
The green monsters are its dogs.
Its spittle; a vile lubricant
To keep the turning of the cogs.

The eastern wind blows wild
From its cold and empty leer,
Telling those with ears and eyes
That THE time is drawing near.

Soon the arena will fill
With lions, eagles and bears
To thrash out bloody hatred and
Settle their affairs.

A menagerie of fools,
Whose egos stand too tall.

View original post 56 more words

About Chris42

I am a liar! A maker-uper of stories! If this was the 16 (c) I'd be burned as a witch. Fank goodness it is not, eh?! I have four children: two wonderful girls, a fantastic lad and Leeds United. I have no strict genre. I write children's poetry and stories, to edgy, stronger themes. Up until now I have stored them for my own and my family's viewing. Last year i thought bugger it and starred in several short films. One, Playground, which is on the BBC Film Network, used the monologue that I wrote for the audition. You should've seen the face of the receptionist, of the Manchester hotel, where the audition was being held, as I turned up dressed as the psychopath, Gordon. It got the desired effect! I then moved up to Cumbria and wrote and appeared in several live performances on stage. 2012. A local artist, Kayleigh Richardson, commissioned me to write a poem for her to paint a representation. I sent her, The Rise of the Robot Monkey Army. Kayleigh painted a fantastic piece that blew my mind! From that we are collaborating on the Jacob Bear series of stories. Oh and Two's Company is to published, along with seventeen other Sci Fi short stories as part of a collection. Not a bad start to the, so called, last year of the Earth. Now is the time to show the rest of you. I take my themes wherever i see them, whether in reality or dream-world. I hope you enjoy. If not tell me why. If so tell me why. Many thanks and be safe. So far I have published: Jacob Bear's first Christmas,https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007GK872A (UK) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007GK872A (USA) Jacob Bear Goes to School https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007JD3OKY (UK) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007JD3OKY (USA Jacob's First Words https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007VZWPSC (UK) & http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007VZWPSC (USA) Space Here https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007H96M90 (UK) &http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007H96M90#reader_B007H96M90 The Rise of the Sponge Cake Moon https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007WWZ16M (UK) & http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007WWZ16M (USA) © Madstoffa, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “No. 325

  1. Love the photo. I complimented the last poem. I fear being nice again. Your already large head night overinflate and explode. Feel free to insert something charming and nice for me.

    Posted by Tosha Michelle | April 26, 2016, 2:37 pm
  2. whatever trevor!
    I’m hurt now!

    Posted by cpsingleton42 | April 26, 2016, 3:18 pm
  3. Cool poem Cp. I like the language of a free for all with beasts, and the reference to menagerie of fools makes me think they are the opposite of personified (Pretty clear this is the case, just drawing out my observerations). The reference to egos, made me think of a poem of my own from awhile ago, below. At the time of writing it, I hadn’t seen the play “Waiting for Godot”, but I saw it last Friday at a nearby college. If I am not mistaken, you have done some acting, right? Ever been in that play? The talk of time in your poem, and thrashing of fools, made me think of the thrashing Lucky got multiple times, and egos standing too tall made me think of the dogpile in the second act, though I am unsure of the egos being too tall of some of them – Estragon seemed pretty servile, and Valdimir, while more egotistical, was still content to wait. They both had egos though, and were not the kindest towards Lucky. Anyways, there was a hot girl sitting in front of me in the auditorium who kept stretching and putting her hand in my face, and fidgeting, and sitting like an owl in her seat with her legs in her shirt, that was a little distracting, so I will have to watch it again someone online. 😦 I’d love to see a recording of Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen’s Broadway performance of it!

    “Sonnets From Hush To Hush XXII (22)”
    by Ry Hakari

    The art of throwing shade as a silhouette ventriloquist
    is shape-shifting projections, casting aspersions caught
    pitching ash, losing your voice in so-called “pillow-talk”
    screaming at the god of dreams you try being in a plot twist
    so loud your nose bleeds on your own Shroud of Turin with
    fists clenched, swimming against a sea of sheets, washed
    in a tide of regrets, reminiscing with apologies protocol
    dried in a desire denied by higher powers over-sharing nil

    A free-for-all head vs heart vs me vs myself vs I, cage-fighting
    my ego vs superego vs id vs anima vs shadow vs fraud vs actual
    vs allegory vs verses’ curses in churches, waiting for their hearses
    underneath a willow tree, stringing together theories of “why me?”
    Hope deferred creates heartache, but delivered it springs eternal;
    I’ve been impatient in the waiting room for that baby, since 2006

    Posted by Cyan Ryan | April 26, 2016, 5:04 pm
    • Fanks for the kind words.
      I haven’t unfortunately seen the play. I shall put it on my list. As long as the distraction is to the side and not directly in front! 😊
      Great poem! Some great emotional imagery. Love the line: “so loud your nose bleeds on your own Shroud of Turin”!!
      All the best to you and yours.

      Posted by cpsingleton42 | April 27, 2016, 12:13 am

Leave a Reply

Please Help A Poor Writer Enter His Work Into Competitions.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,965 other followers

KEEP OFF!!

© C.p.Singleton, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Don't make me have to take the shirt off your whipped back if you break the rules! I will you know! Us writing folk work hard to make rubbish up for you to enjoy, so don't abuse or you lose! Tha's right!

Blog Awards

Blog Awards

