//
you're reading...
Poetry, poetry, Uncategorized

Suffer The Little Children. By CpSingleton © 2016


Suffer The Little Children. By CpSingleton © 2016

As we sit in our solid homes,

Smug with the comfort of soft cushions,

Glorying in technology’s helpful assistance,

Spare a thought for those

Children under tin roofs

Praying for rain to wash their dry eyes.

As you watch and listen to

The frightening magnificence of

A cacophonous storm

From your pretty front porch,

Knowing that you can dash inside

If it grows too fierce,

Ponder the children fearfully

Clumped together

In dilapidated doorways.

Hungry and scared.

Sleeping with one eye open.

Only a tiny hand to protect their groins

From predators.

As you drink your fresh water and

Complain that the hose pipe ban won’t

Allow you to wash your shiny car or

Your pristine lawn,

Consider the babies:

Skin and bone; sunken eyes;

Cracked thin lips;

Distended little bellies;

Pitifully screaming

For one drop of water

That isn’t crawling with infestation.

As you swallow that mouthful

Of glorious food

That creates a sigh and

The painful joy of an over-

Satisfied belly,

Draw your mind’s eye to

The little souls who merely

Dream of a clean teaspoonful of gruel.

You’ve all heard the stats.

You all know the score.

If governments spent more on aid and

Less on waging despicable war,

We wouldn’t have to think about any of it.

But they do and

We do.

Sleep safely tonight.

With smiles in your belly and

Clear minds.

Because many others will not…
http://socceraid.unicef.org.uk

About Chris42

I am a liar! A maker-uper of stories! If this was the 16 (c) I'd be burned as a witch. Fank goodness it is not, eh?! I have four children: two wonderful girls, a fantastic lad and Leeds United. I have no strict genre. I write children's poetry and stories, to edgy, stronger themes. Up until now I have stored them for my own and my family's viewing. Last year i thought bugger it and starred in several short films. One, Playground, which is on the BBC Film Network, used the monologue that I wrote for the audition. You should've seen the face of the receptionist, of the Manchester hotel, where the audition was being held, as I turned up dressed as the psychopath, Gordon. It got the desired effect! I then moved up to Cumbria and wrote and appeared in several live performances on stage. 2012. A local artist, Kayleigh Richardson, commissioned me to write a poem for her to paint a representation. I sent her, The Rise of the Robot Monkey Army. Kayleigh painted a fantastic piece that blew my mind! From that we are collaborating on the Jacob Bear series of stories. Oh and Two's Company is to published, along with seventeen other Sci Fi short stories as part of a collection. Not a bad start to the, so called, last year of the Earth. Now is the time to show the rest of you. I take my themes wherever i see them, whether in reality or dream-world. I hope you enjoy. If not tell me why. If so tell me why. Many thanks and be safe. So far I have published: Jacob Bear's first Christmas,https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007GK872A (UK) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007GK872A (USA) Jacob Bear Goes to School https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007JD3OKY (UK) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007JD3OKY (USA Jacob's First Words https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007VZWPSC (UK) & http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007VZWPSC (USA) Space Here https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007H96M90 (UK) &http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007H96M90#reader_B007H96M90 The Rise of the Sponge Cake Moon https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007WWZ16M (UK) & http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007WWZ16M (USA) © Madstoffa, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Suffer The Little Children. By CpSingleton © 2016

  1. Thank you for reminding me that some of us are bothered by this stuff. Lately I have been reading a lot of crap from truly good people that attempt to explain why there is outrage when a gorilla is shot but not much of any at the pervasive, persistent suffering in the lives of millions. The helplessness, fatigue, and anger often gets to me; if I could just turn those feelings into power, action, and redress . . . It just really brings me down and makes me furious. Life matters, no matter one or thousands, no matter big or small. Aaaaaarrrrrrgggggghhhhhh!

    Posted by Justice&Humanity | June 7, 2016, 3:35 pm
  2. Too right it bothers me. I’m not ashamed to say that it brings me to tears.
    Anything, like soccer aid, live aid, etc, that highlights the plight of these poor, defencless children, living in such squalor in these “enlightened” times gets my support.
    I donate and write about them, but wish i could do more. One day I will scoop them all up and tickle them until they giggle with joy!

    Posted by cpsingleton42 | June 7, 2016, 7:08 pm
  3. This is powerful.

    Posted by Tosha Michelle | June 7, 2016, 7:16 pm
  4. As I wipe the tears from my eyes, I commend you for your honest, heartfelt verse.

    Posted by bowmanauthor | June 7, 2016, 7:37 pm
  5. I can only hang my head in shame as I tell you that you are right. Thank you for the clarity in the overwhelming fog.

    Posted by Kattie Kate | June 9, 2016, 2:31 am

Leave a Reply

Please Help A Poor Writer Enter His Work Into Competitions.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,964 other followers

KEEP OFF!!

© C.p.Singleton, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Don't make me have to take the shirt off your whipped back if you break the rules! I will you know! Us writing folk work hard to make rubbish up for you to enjoy, so don't abuse or you lose! Tha's right!

Blog Awards

Blog Awards

