//
you're reading...
Diary of a short-armed man.

The Diary of the Short-armed Man. (Day 17) by CpSingleton © 2016


January 17th

My dearest Mol,
I do hope you are happy.

I’m very confused today.

I’m trying to work out why yesterday happened and why now the very thought of stepping outside, even to stand in your back garden, makes my head reel and my heart speed up. 

How in heaven have I got this way, love?

I just don’t know.

I sit, listening to the creaking of the house at night, and for the first time in my life I’m genuinely scared.

You know me, Mol, I’m not scared of anything. Heights, spiders, flying and even drunks acting like idiots have never bothered me. You remember that time in the White Hart when all those football hooligans came in and smashed up the place and I calmly got us out? That was only a few years ago, wasn’t it? 

Bottles and stools were flying around our heads and I didn’t bat an eyelid. But now I’m scared of my own shadow. I’m frightened of being alone, but more petrified of going out and seeing people.

I think I may be losing the plot, Mol, and can’t tell anyone.

I certainly can’t tell June. She’d have me in a home in a heartbeat.

She’s coming around again tomorrow so I’ve asked her if she can pick up some milk, bread and other bits and bobs.

I know it’s a bit cowardly not going myself, but I will go out soon. I promise. I just want to get to grips with it.

I watched the news today and it had me in tears. All those little kiddies bombed. I really do think you are in a better place, but I do also really wish you were here.

Good night my beautiful.
Love always,

Your Bill

Xxx

About Chris42

I am a liar! A maker-uper of stories! If this was the 16 (c) I'd be burned as a witch. Fank goodness it is not, eh?! I have four children: two wonderful girls, a fantastic lad and Leeds United. I have no strict genre. I write children's poetry and stories, to edgy, stronger themes. Up until now I have stored them for my own and my family's viewing. Last year i thought bugger it and starred in several short films. One, Playground, which is on the BBC Film Network, used the monologue that I wrote for the audition. You should've seen the face of the receptionist, of the Manchester hotel, where the audition was being held, as I turned up dressed as the psychopath, Gordon. It got the desired effect! I then moved up to Cumbria and wrote and appeared in several live performances on stage. 2012. A local artist, Kayleigh Richardson, commissioned me to write a poem for her to paint a representation. I sent her, The Rise of the Robot Monkey Army. Kayleigh painted a fantastic piece that blew my mind! From that we are collaborating on the Jacob Bear series of stories. Oh and Two's Company is to published, along with seventeen other Sci Fi short stories as part of a collection. Not a bad start to the, so called, last year of the Earth. Now is the time to show the rest of you. I take my themes wherever i see them, whether in reality or dream-world. I hope you enjoy. If not tell me why. If so tell me why. Many thanks and be safe. So far I have published: Jacob Bear's first Christmas,https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007GK872A (UK) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007GK872A (USA) Jacob Bear Goes to School https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007JD3OKY (UK) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007JD3OKY (USA Jacob's First Words https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007VZWPSC (UK) & http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007VZWPSC (USA) Space Here https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007H96M90 (UK) &http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007H96M90#reader_B007H96M90 The Rise of the Sponge Cake Moon https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007WWZ16M (UK) & http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007WWZ16M (USA) © Madstoffa, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “The Diary of the Short-armed Man. (Day 17) by CpSingleton © 2016

  1. This gave me chills…

    Posted by Nicole Alexandra Chua | July 30, 2016, 4:25 am
  2. Poor Bill.

    Posted by Tosha Michelle | July 30, 2016, 7:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Please Help A Poor Writer Enter His Work Into Competitions.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,049 other followers

KEEP OFF!!

© C.p.Singleton, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Don't make me have to take the shirt off your whipped back if you break the rules! I will you know! Us writing folk work hard to make rubbish up for you to enjoy, so don't abuse or you lose! Tha's right!

Blog Awards

Blog Awards

