//
you're reading...
flash

Flash: Captain Flash-bastard.

Being One. By CpSingleton © 2017

‘You had every chance, dude?’ Laughed Jonny.

‘I didn’t though, did I?’ Jonathon replied. ‘Every time I went to open my mouth you cut in with some glib remark.’

‘And whose fault is that?’ Asked Jonny.

The two had been forced into the round grey room to hash their problems out, but it felt pointless to both of them.

‘Yours!’ Snapped Jonathon. ‘Always yours.’

‘How can you say that?! I gave you ample opportunity, dude.’

‘Will you stop calling me that.’

‘What? Dude?’ Asked Jonny, grinning. ‘You’re just trying to deflect the fact that you lost out because you’re boring.’

‘No I’m not!’

‘What? Deflecting or boring?’

‘Well, both,’ replied Jonathon. ‘I was laying down the groundwork. You can’t rush these things.’

‘Laying down the groundwork?! Come on! You were fucking boring the girl. If I hadn’t come along she would’ve hung herself from the cafeteria light-fittings. I saved her life, dude. I deserve a medal: not this shit.’

‘But, you always do it!’ Jonathon told Jonny. ‘Just as I’m setting myself to ask a girl, in swoops Captain Flash-bastard. Why can’t you just let me have one?’

‘Because, even if you did manage to bore a bird into submission, you’re bound to fuck it up later. I’m saving you the heartache.’

‘And you’re so great, are you? How many relationships have you gone the distance with?’

‘That’s not the point,’ said Jonny, feeling the momentum slip. ‘At least I get dates. You can’t even get that far. I don’t even know why we’re friends. You’re a liability.’

Jonny stood to leave the room, only to frown at the lack of doors and windows.

‘What the exact bollocks is this?’ He asked.

Jonathon stood; the cold chill of anxiety filling his guts.

‘This isn’t right,’ Jonathon moaned. He bolted to the point where he was sure they had entered and found solid wall. ‘Jonny! Get us out!’

‘Calm down, pee-pants. It’s obviously a joke. A piss-take to wind us up. You go one way and I’ll go the other. And breathe. I don’t need one of your panic attacks today.’

Fighting down the need to scream, Jonathon did as he was told. They both tapped and thumped their way around the room. By the time they had reached one another, however, an exit was still to be found.

‘I’m not liking this, Jonny!’ Jonathon moaned. A cold sweat forming on his spine as the room closed in on him like the garbage scene from Star Wars. ‘I need to get out! I need to get out!’

He felt the other man’s hand sting his cheek. It calmed him a little.

‘Get a grip,’ said Jonny. ‘There’s a note on the desk. It’ll be some frigging joke.’

Jonathon turned to look at the desk he didn’t recall being there previously.

‘But,’ he began.

‘But, nothing,’ Jonny told him. ‘The note says we can only get out by being one. What the fuck do you think that means?’

‘Being one what?’

‘Just, being one, Jonny replied, widening his arms.

About Chris42

I am a liar! A maker-uper of stories! If this was the 16 (c) I'd be burned as a witch. Fank goodness it is not, eh?! I have four children: two wonderful girls, a fantastic lad and Leeds United. I have no strict genre. I write children's poetry and stories, to edgy, stronger themes. Up until now I have stored them for my own and my family's viewing. Last year i thought bugger it and starred in several short films. One, Playground, which is on the BBC Film Network, used the monologue that I wrote for the audition. You should've seen the face of the receptionist, of the Manchester hotel, where the audition was being held, as I turned up dressed as the psychopath, Gordon. It got the desired effect! I then moved up to Cumbria and wrote and appeared in several live performances on stage. 2012. A local artist, Kayleigh Richardson, commissioned me to write a poem for her to paint a representation. I sent her, The Rise of the Robot Monkey Army. Kayleigh painted a fantastic piece that blew my mind! From that we are collaborating on the Jacob Bear series of stories. Oh and Two's Company is to published, along with seventeen other Sci Fi short stories as part of a collection. Not a bad start to the, so called, last year of the Earth. Now is the time to show the rest of you. I take my themes wherever i see them, whether in reality or dream-world. I hope you enjoy. If not tell me why. If so tell me why. Many thanks and be safe. So far I have published: Jacob Bear's first Christmas,https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007GK872A (UK) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007GK872A (USA) Jacob Bear Goes to School https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007JD3OKY (UK) http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007JD3OKY (USA Jacob's First Words https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007VZWPSC (UK) & http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007VZWPSC (USA) Space Here https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007H96M90 (UK) &http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007H96M90#reader_B007H96M90 The Rise of the Sponge Cake Moon https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007WWZ16M (UK) & http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007WWZ16M (USA) © Madstoffa, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Please Help A Poor Writer Enter His Work Into Competitions.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,970 other followers

KEEP OFF!!

© C.p.Singleton, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Don't make me have to take the shirt off your whipped back if you break the rules! I will you know! Us writing folk work hard to make rubbish up for you to enjoy, so don't abuse or you lose! Tha's right!

Blog Awards

Blog Awards

